Tweet Tweet

As I discussed in Part 1 of this blog post, live-tweeting was not completely new territory for me. However, that is not saying that I did not have things to learn or improve on throughout the session.

The movies that I live-tweeted over the past few weeks include:

  1. Ghost In The Shell
  2. The Matrix
  3. Robot and Frank
  4. Blade Runner (2049)
  5. Ready Player One
  6. Alita: Battle Angel

I mentioned in part one of my live-tweeting blog that I wanted to get better at engaging with other student’s tweets. Not only is live-tweeting a skill, but the ability to engage with other students is something that is very important too.

I engaged with other students by retweeting tweets that I thought were interesting or something that I had not yet thought of. I actually found that a lot of the time I would have the same idea in mind that others had, but not quite have the skill to voice what I was trying to say.

Replying to others tweets and creating conversation, was also something I did that I did not do often in my previous post. Through replies, you can gather people’s insight on a topic, as well as a different perspective. I used questions in my tweets to find out these things.

I also wanted to provide my own insight into certain topics, so I did my best to reply to others tweets too.

Through my last set of tweets for my earlier blog post, I was trying to just tweet a lot as opposed to tweeting good tweets. I focused on quantity over quality. This time around attempted to only tweet things that were meaningful. This may have been through the links I put forward or the thoughts I had about specific things in the movie.

Although I was not perfect at live-tweeting, there were still things that I believed I initially did right. I continued to provide secondary sources to provide more information on a topic.

Last blog post I did not prepare any tweets, although there is no evidence of this I tried doing it this time around. Through doing this it allowed me to engage more with the film, as I was not so worried about getting tweets out.

A new way to increase engagement on my feed was to introduce polls. I would ask a question and pose two different scenarios. This allowed users to engage with me, without having to comment, in case people aren’t yet comfortable with that.

Overall, I think my tweeting has improved over this session. Obviously, there is always room for improvement. I am now in my final semester of university, although I probably won’t have to live-tweet again, it is still a good skill to have. It teaches you how to engage with things and find other resources and topics that are relevant. Through linking things to lecture content it allows you to understand more.

1 thought on “Tweet Tweet

Leave a comment